Town of Clinton Town Caucus

January 11, 2024

10:00 am at the Town Hall, S1299 County Road D

Minutes

Meeting called to order by Chairman Leis at 10:01 am:

Pledge of Allegiance:

Nominee to Chair Meeting:

- M/S/P Corey Leis to Chair meeting by Thea Von Ruden/2nd John Adams, motion passed (all ayes)
- All Board Members present, total of 31 electors (including Board)

Nominations for Town Clerk:

- M/S to Nominate Lori Hemmersbach by Thea Von Ruden/2nd Travis Forgues.
- M/S to Nominate Lori Schmitz by Dawn Anderson/2nd Mike Miller.
 - M/S/P to close nominations for Town Clerk by Frank Easterday/2nd John Adams (all ayes)

Nominations for Town Treasurer:

- M/S to Nominate Jan Clark by Dawn Anderson/2nd Steve Schmitz.
 - M/S/P to close nominations for Town Treasurer by Pete Appleman/2nd Dale Von Ruden (all ayes)

Nominations for Town Supervisor #2:

- M/S to Nominate Tom Moore by Dawn Anderson/2nd Lori Schmitz.
- M/S to Nominate John Chapiewsky by Scot Sanders/2nd Dale Von Ruden.
 - M/S/P to close nominations for Town Supervisor #2 by Thea Von Ruden/2nd John Adams (all ayes)

Nominations for Town Supervisor #1:

- M/S to Nominate Joe Giles by Lori Schmitz/2nd Dawn Anderson.
- M/S to Nominate Travis Forgues by Scot Sanders/2nd Thea Von Ruden.
 - M/S/P to close nominations for Town Supervisor #1 by Pete Appleman/2nd Scot Sanders (all ayes)

Nominations for Town Chairman:

- M/S to Nominate Lar Bergan by Jan Clark/2nd Steve Schmitz.
- M/S to Nominate Darin Von Ruden by Scot Sanders/2nd John Adams.
- M/S to Nominate Tom Moore by Dan Flaherty/2nd Pete Appleman.
 - M/S/P to close nomination for Town Chairman by Steve Schmitz/2nd John Adams.

- Paper Ballot vote for one for Town Chairman to narrow to 2.
- Ballot counters: Tammy Litsey and Donelle Grodahl
 - Results: Darin Von Ruden 13, Lars Bergan, 10, Tom Moore 8
 - Nominees on Ballot: Darin Von Ruden and Lars Bergan

Coin Flip for Ballot Placement as Follows:

- Clerk: Schmitz/Hemmersbach
- Treasurer: n/a
- Supervisor #1: Moore/Chapiewsky
- Supervisor #2: Giles/Forgues
- Chairman: Von Ruden/Bergan

Town Debt Repayment Plan Committee:

- Was mentioned that the Town was putting together a committee to make recommendations for both the 10-year plan and the town debt repayment plan. Looking for a committee of 4 people. Committee purpose is to help plan the debt repayment, not argue about how to came to be, should understand the town budgetary process.
- Interested parties should come to the February Town Board Meeting, or let the Board know of interest.

Zone Townships:

• County Board Member Frank Easterday briefly mentioned that there may be a push to zone townships and he wanted to make us aware of it. Sometimes can be a plus to get zoned all agriculture. Clinton is not zoned currently.

Adjourn:

• M/S/P: To close the Town Caucus at 10:23am by Darin Von Ruden/2nd Bill Stock, motion passed (all ayes).

Clerk Lori Hemmersbach	:		Date:

Attendees:

Barb Adams, S2134 Cty Rd D John Adams, S2134 Cty Rd D Dawn R Anderson, S1450 Knapp Valley Rd Peter Appleman, S1425 Cty Rd D Lars Bergan, E9986 Nelson Rd Fred Brandt, E10209 Cty Rd P Ranelle Brandt, E10209 Cty Rd P John Chapiewsky, S644 Clinton Rdg Rd Jan Clark, E11140 Cty Rd P Mava Clark, E11140 Cty Rd P Frank Easterday, S1018 Knapp Valley Rd Doug Ewing, E11346 Willow Lane Carlie Flaherty, S2392 Dell Rd Daniel Flaherty, S2392 Dell Rd Alex Flores, E10120 Kelbel Rd Travis Forgues, S1597 Hanson Rd Donnelle Grodahl, E10218 Andy Miller Rd Lori Hemmersbach, E10206 Kelbel Rd John LaDue, S1688 Wang Rdg Rd Corey Leis, E11016 Leis Rd Tammy Litsey, E9502 Fish St Mike Miller, S1878 Woods Rdg Rd Trisha Miller, S1878 Woods Rdg Rd Tom Moore, S2384 Dell Rd Scot Sanders, E10206 Kelbel Rd Lori Schmitz, S1867 Woods Rdg Rd Steven R Schmitz, S1867 Woods Rdg Rd

Bill Stock, E10880 Cty Rd P Dale Von Ruden, S1331A Clinton Ridge Darin Von Ruden, S1299 Town Rd 57 Thea Von Ruden, S1331A Clinton Rdg